Missing it

image

I’m going to miss it you know.
The preparation the day before.
Coaching cornering at kids club.
Filling bags, oiling bikes, making sandwiches, setting alarms.

I’m going to miss it you know.
6.30am Sunday mornings.
Wheeling kit to the car.
Packing the boot, loading the bikes, rallying the troops.

I’m going to miss it you know.
Driving miles to the venue.
Registering the family.
Recceing the course,  sussing out technicalities,  readying the off.

I’m going to miss it you know.
Watching the kids race.
Running around like a fool.
Toeing the line, putting body through the mill, scrapping with rival vets.

I’m going to miss it you know.
All night cleaning,
Soaking mud emulsioned shorts,
Gazing at photos, swopping war stories, hankering for results.

I’m going to miss it you know.

The 2014 Welsh cyclo-cross season ends December 12th. Many thanks to Jo Hastings for the image (taken at Pembrey and passed through a filter).

2 replies »

    • Cheers Thom. The CX season gets under my skin for 12 weeks. I feel rushed, tired, run ragged, but love every minute of it. The season is intense and over in the blink of an eye. I suspect that next year we’ll see an upturn in Summer CX events, something I’d warmly welcome.

Leave a Reply

