A curtain of drizzle

‘Cyclist in the rain’ by Friedensreich Hundertwasse

I woke to a curtain in drizzle. Misty, light rain moving in thick bands to go about its business; quietly dousing allcomers. On the commute, I was taken by the number of cyclists riding through Bute Park and the busy little groups congregating roadside at the College of music and drama. A very chic lady sat astride a vintage racer. A couple of blokes with their workhorses. A student straddling a fixie (natch). A chap approached from behind me. Another 3 or 4 waited the other side of the road. It was all very civilised and quiet unexpected, so often the rain putting off cyclists in droves. These little moments – whilst insignificant in themselves – continue to suggest that the efficacy of cycling has reached a wider audience.

Walk on by.

Something catches the eye.

Cutting across the corner of Queen St today, the Italian market stall was back and adding a dab of colour to an otherwise colourless day. Cakes, sweets, cheeses, olives, capers and more. The sunny mediterranean meets the grey North Atlantic. Would I have noticed any of this in a car? Struggling through the jams and rushing out from the car park? Nah.

 

2 replies »

  1. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out
    there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend
    to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or hints? Thanks!

    • Hello Trey. Thanks for your kind comments.

      Writers block? Hmmmm…….I had to give that some thought and try and distill my answer into some bullet points.

      1. Write about what interests you – It’s tempting to second guess what will be interesting to others, but that’s almost impossible to achieve. Write about things that get you interested, excited and passionate.
      2. Observe – One of the things that I’ve really enjoyed about writing this blog, is that its made me more aware of my environment. I undeniably watch, listen and mentally note much more than when I dashed from place to place with my head down and heels clipping (which practically anyone who knows me would tell you, I still dash around quiet a bit). You can always be subconciously developing some themes.
      3. Don’t worry about form – If you have ideas, open draft blog posts and jot them down. You can always develop them later once the idea has percolated around your mind.
      4. Find a relaxed place to write – Grab a cup of tea/coffee/beer (delete as appropriate), pop on some music (Pink Floyd/Zero 7/The The/Terry Callier/Scott Matthews; all get me in the right frame of mind), take the pressure off and ease into it.
      5. Always remember #1 🙂

      I hope that helps. Very best of luck with your writing.

      Simon

Leave a Reply

