Roll for the soul café

 

Roll for the Soul by Rob Draper

I’ve been trying to write this blog post for about half and hour, tripping over the opening statements each time my fingers hit the keyboard. Don’t ask me why, I’m not shy of words normally. Perhaps because I’m a bit tired after another gig and late night sojourn on the Taff Trail. More probably because I’m trying to reinvent the wheel and do justice to something that has already been eloquently and thoughtfully compiled. Anyway……the purpose of the post is to draw your attention to the proposed  ‘Roll for the Soul’ community café in Bristol.  So Here’s the bit I keep trying to pointlessly rehash:

Roll for the Soul will be a community-focused bike café for Bristol. Its vision is to become the focal point for cycling in the city, celebrating and supporting our unique cycling culture. It’ll be for Bristol cyclists, by Bristol cyclists, which also means trying to attract non-cyclists to show them what they’re missing.

Roll for the Soul will provide quality food and drink; cycle-related events; information; sales, repairs and servicing; workshop space; and will advocate for cycling. It’s a not-for-profit Community Interest Company (8205951) limited by guarantee and will use any surplus revenue to support and promote cycling in Bristol, in partnership with other social enterprises. 

 

I wholeheartedly support this becasuse:

(a) It is genuinely community minded (rare in this homogeneous, business orientated, “me me me” world)

(b) It has great social benefits, providing jobs and feeding money back into the community.

(c) Bristol is a great cycling city that deserves a great cycling café.

 

The short video above will let you hear all about it in Rob’s own words, whilst the crowdfunder website allows you to be a part of the whole thing. I don’t live in Bristol, so technically its not aimed at me, but Bristol is a stone’s throw away, a fine cycling city and I believe rather strongly in this type of thing. Go put my pledge to good use fellas. Keep up the good work.

For the aims and objectives of the ‘Roll for the Soul’ café, including how to be involved, click here.

 

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

