Ogmore-sur-mer

On Sunday I headed out on my single speed. With 3-4 hours spare and a desire for some meditative riding, I rode over the undulations of the Vale of the Glamorgan towards Ogmore, Southerndown and the beautiful heritage coastline. It was one of those rare spring days. Mild temperature. Slight breezes. Strong sunlight. You’d be forgiven for thinking that the Southern coast of Wales had magically transplanted itself to North West France. I passed innumerable groups of cyclists. Rural pubs were bedecked with flowers, garlands and the odd trestle table for the sale of local produce. Despite being on a solo odyssey, the ride was surprisingly sociable. At Fairwater I rode alongside fellow JIF member Simon Hughes. At St Fagans I bumped into Ian Liddiard, marshalling the Cardiff-try-a-tri. At Ogmore I ran into Odoni colleague Andrew Huntley and his cousin, out enjoying some last minute Carten prep (a 100 mile charity ride). At Barry I stopped to talk to Andrew Sedgemond – a fellow Les Croupiers running club member – two weeks away from his ultra-distance running debut.  Finally, at Llandaff I waved to a sprinting Steve Owen, also of Les Croupiers. It was clearly a good day to be out.

24 hours earlier at Roald Dahl Plass in Cardiff Bay, the Wales Coast path was declared officially open. It’s the first coastal path to cover an entire country, measuring a mere 870 miles long. After soaking up the views at Ogmore, those miles look rather attractive (on a bike at least). I think I’m going to need some time off for that one (after my legs have recovered – nothing like a single speed to deaden them). Incidentally, if you google ‘Southerndown cliffs’ you’ll enjoy images much better than those captured on my mobile phone. I’ve included one as a test. Easy eh?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

