Through a cycling lens

The UK Photomarathon is returning to Cardiff on the 16th of June.  A competition with a twist,  over a 12 hour period competitors take 12 pictures on 12 separate topics. In this instance the term ‘marathon’ doesn’t refer to long distance physical hardship, but to the extended duration of the competition. The organisers are keen to point out that ‘it’s not your physical condition, but your sense of improvisation, fun and creativity’.  Once the judging is over, all of the images will be presented in a public exhibition. Last year the event attracted 400 entrants. At 12 pictures each, that’s…..err……a lot of photo’s* for a public exhibition.

Bikes. I had to point a camera at them.

 

Each year I’ve thought about entering, and subsequently missed it due to other commitments. This year, I have made a promise that I’ll be there (I’ve  coughed up the £17.50 entry fee at least) and I shall be using some sneaky underhand tactics to both stun and shock the competition. To make Cardiff even more accessible to my Canon, I shall be using a secret weapon (a bike – you can cover a few miles in 12 hours) and using a secret winning formula for each topic (cycling paraphernalia will be snuck into each shot). Sshh! Please keep it under your hat. I have high hopes. After all, cameras and bikes go together like Moules Marinières and Belgian ale.

It's Bristol and it wasn't taken by me, but bicycles just look right in an image, don't you think?

The 2012 Photomarathon will take place in Cardiff on Saturday June 16th starting at Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay. Entries online in advance. An exhibition of all the photographs taken on the day will be held in the first floor exhibition space at the Cardiff Story, in the city’s Old Library on The Hayes during July/August. Entries open to all and Cardiff a mere train journey away. Full details here.

*4800. I’m not that bad at maths. But I am shocking at chemistry.

Leave a Reply

