The bench

 

The park bench. Positively ubiquitous on any cycle journey that involves a cycle path or beauty spot.

 

Handy in the dry.

Avoided when wet.

Its such a simple thing. Placed in places of recreation and amenity for the simple purpose of public utility. I love the fact that we feel its important to provide a public space for residents or visitors to sit quietly and contemplate their surroundings (and for cyclists, they make fine rescue stations in times of mechanical need). To my mind, its one of the quiet indicators of a civilised society (though maybe lower down the list than say law and order, adequate healthcare and care for the elderly).  Cycling to work along the Taff trail I spotted the park bench below, dedicated to Harry and Keith. I have no idea who they were, but I think its safe to assume that they loved this spot – overlooking Llandaff weir and the rowing club – and are still remembered fondly.